Passport renewal at the German Embassy in San José, Costa Rica (Part 2)

The German Embassy in San José is one of the 149 foreign representatives of the Foreign Office in Berlin. In San Jose currently 17 employees work to the benefit of the German citizen.

In the waiting room of the German Embassy
When I came into the waiting room of the German embassy, ​​I first gave my cell phone to a good-natured Costa Rican police officer for safekeeping.
The Researcher Ms. Dahlhelm told me again that I just have to wait. Aside from me there was just an old couple, another young woman came in later. I had to laugh though, because the older couple asked the women from the embassy which of the women of the embassy was pregnant. Some members of the German Embassy were guests in his house. OK, then hallelujah. When the young woman came she told us that she liked Costa Rica that good that they want to stay here. That is why she came to apply for a passport. Ok, thats is what happens sometimes.

When I got my turn, indeed pretty fast, they asked me why I had no passport for the last years. I explained that I do not need a passport in Costa Rica. The deputy ambassador had advised me to just apply for it when I need it. During the World Cup in Germany in 2006 she was a guest in my hotel. And it was before the 2006 World Cup in Germany, when there was a soccer game at the stadium in Nicoya between a German selection and the World Cup 1990 selection of Costa Rica. I had to be able to join the Costa Rican team. Certainly we lost 3-1.
Anyway, the argument was accepted. There was only one small problem with the passport photos. She told me that she could not accept my photos because they were not taken from one of her recommended photographers, as the Ticos are not able to shoot good passport pictures. After some back and forth we finally agreed. I paid 52,060 colones, at least about 120 U.S. dollars and we parted friendly. A month later I could pick up my passport.

Some stories by the way

Naturally, the German embassy also has problems with a few visitors, exploiting security vulnerabilities. At the ambassy I met an “experts” who told me very openly that there were different cases reported where cars and other items were brought into the country. When one of these things were registered in a passport, people would simply make this passport disappear and apply for a new one.   Image

A dialog would then run as following:
Embassy: You must report your passport stolen to the police.
Applicant: But the passport is not stolen. I lost it.
Embassy: It must still be reported as stolen to the police.
Applicant: Ok, then I will go to the police.

Summary and Comment
All in all, the German Embassy did a good job and I do have my new Passport. The small events in addition were more funny than annoying and please understand my reporting as informational.
I wish all members of the German Embassy, including Santa Claus, only friendly visitors. 

Pura Vida

Leave a Reply

