My internship in Costa Rica, Part III

After more than two exhausting days, including seven hours’ time difference, I finally arrived at the bus stop Barco Quebrado, where Rainer, the hotel owner, had promised to pick me up. But he didn’t.

After the bus driver assured me that I was at the right stop, I stood there all alone, heavily loaded, in the middle of nowhere. Thousands of thoughts came into my mind: Now what? What am I going to do if he has forgotten to pick me up and won’t come? How do I get out of here? Fortunately, these thoughts were a waste of time because Rainer arrived about 15 minutes later and brought me to my future home and workplace. The Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo, a small oasis in a natural paradise.

My first day was relaxed, after I was shown my room and I had eaten a snack, Rainer took me and his Golden Retriever Benny Evangélico to the Playa Barrigona. The beautiful beach is located about eight miles north of Sámara, and can only be reached on dirt roads with huge potholes. On the trip, I saw the incredible landscape with unique trees, such as the national tree of Costa Rica, the Guanacaste (the province of Guanacaste in the north-west of the country is named after it), and I saw animals such as howler monkeys and iguanas.

Once there, it was a breathtaking and awe-inspiring panorama: turquoise, crystal clear blue water and a crisp white fine sandy beach –  an amazing view. The natural beach was fringed by coconut trees and wooded hills. It’s the perfect place to relax and tan. I loved the beach and the salty water on my skin, and it smells so good.

In the hinterland of Playa Barrigona the property of actor and director Mel Gibson is located: A huge cattle farm and some houses. Rainer assured me Mr. Gibson has already been seen on Playa Barrigona. But unfortunately, despite several beach visits, I haven’t seen the Hollywood star yet. Later, I was told, he was supposed to have been there about two weeks ago. What a pity!





<!–[if gte mso 10]>  

After more than two exhausting days, including seven hours’ time difference, I finally arrived at the bus stop Barco Quebrado, where Rainer, the hotel owner, had promised to pick me up. But he didn’t.

After the bus driver assured me that I was at the right stop, I stood there all alone, heavily loaded, in the middle of nowhere. Thousands of thoughts came into my mind: Now what? What am I going to do if he has forgotten to pick me up and won’t come? How do I get out of here? Fortunately, these thoughts were a waste of time because Rainer arrived about 15 minutes later and brought me to my future home and workplace. The Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo, a small oasis in a natural paradise.

My first day was relaxed, after I was shown my room and I had eaten a snack, Rainer took me and his Golden Retriever Benny Evangélico to the Playa Barrigona. The beautiful beach is located about eight miles north of Sámara, and can only be reached on dirt roads with huge potholes. On the trip, I saw the incredible landscape with unique trees, such as the national tree of Costa Rica, the Guanacaste (the province of Guanacaste in the north-west of the country is named after it), and I saw animals such as howler monkeys and iguanas.

Once there, it was a breathtaking and awe-inspiring panorama: turquoise, crystal clear blue water and a crisp white fine sandy beach –  an amazing view. The natural beach was fringed by coconut trees and wooded hills. It’s the perfect place to relax and tan. I loved the beach and the salty water on my skin, and it smells so good.

Comming soon: My internship in Costa Rica, Part III
trip to the Costa Rica travelreports small but powerful

In the hinterland of Playa Barrigona the property of actor and director Mel Gibson is located: A huge cattle farm and some houses. Rainer assured me Mr. Gibson has already been seen on Playa Barrigona. But unfortunately, despite several beach visits, I haven’t seen the Hollywood star yet. Later, I was told, he was supposed to have been there about two weeks ago. What a pity!

Leave a Reply

